top of page

Thankful to be here today

As Thanksgiving is here - a tradition and celebration that I was always against because of how it begun - I realize more than ever how Americanized I am. I obviously don't celebrate Thanksgiving because the Native Americans were treated poorly. Just like I don't celebrate Christmas because I believe in God and Jesus. I just love any good reason to get together with friends and family to eat good food and do traditional things. Because we need that pause in life sometimes to actually enjoy what we work so hard for. The economy in California is useless at this point so most of us will have to move somewhere else. Therefore me and Nick love to go all out these days and take any opportunity that we can get to spend time with our loved ones.

It's funny how us Swedes tend to look down upon days like Halloween because we think that the Americans are too bold and big with it. "How silly to spend that much money on outdoor decorations, lights, costumes and parties for one day that does not even have much meaning"... in Sweden I always went to Halloween parties as a kid but that tradition is pretty much dead and gone now. I think Swedes feel silly and immature doing those things and going trick or treating because no one else really does it either.

But by living here I have realized what we are missing out on in my home country! Halloween is more than just dressing up and getting drunk. It's about everyone having fun together. It is a wonderful feeling to see so many people decorating their front yards or garages and sharing that with the world this time of year. We all get to enjoy it. So I don't mind the big blow-up spiders on roof tops and huge dinners on Thanksgiving. It all comes from a good place in peoples hearts. We are good at helping each other in Sweden, but not always good at communicating with a stranger on a bus or at the store. Over here people talk to each other all year around, but especially during this time of year when we are all in a great mood. It brings us together. So open your minds about Halloween and Thanksgiving and look at how amazing it can be when everyone joins in! If me and Nick ever move to Sweden we swear to go all out and bring Halloween back to life there again ;)

This morning I woke up early and captured the beauty of a California fall...


bottom of page