top of page

It's such a blessing to have another birthday

What a surreal feeling it was to turn 27 years old. Birthdays were so easy up until my early 20's. After 25 it got a little harder not to be anxious about it. I know it's a very common feeling. The older we get, life flies by faster which sucks. I wish a summer could last forever like it did when I was little. But I do NOT want to get stuck in that anxiety like too many people do. They get so upset about turning a year older that they refuse to even celebrate their birthdays. I won't allow myself to forget what a blessing it is. There are people around us who lose their lives too soon. They get sick or get into accidents. It's uncomfortable to even think about, because it can happen anytime and anywhere. So the fact that I got to celebrate another exciting year on Earth is beautiful.

The first thing we did that morning was to check out from the hotel. We had decided to stay another night at a different hotel. The whole point of this trip was to check out different places and things after all. I wanted birthday pancakes for breakfast so we drove to IHOP but my goodness... we sure learned something about Tahoe then and there. Brunch places like that on weekends, looks like BJ's on a Saturday night, haha! There was seriously a long waiting line. We couldn't believe it. But that goes to show how tourism affects this place. We drove from one breakfast place to another and faced the same problem. So we ended up at KFC... but I didn't mind having their delicious mac n cheese, mashed potatoes and potato wedges for breakfast! In the meantime I was talking to my sister, Sofie and Anna on Facebook messenger. It's always bittersweet to celebrate birthdays when half of the people you want to spend it with, are in another country. But it feels better when I get to talk to them.

Our next stop was Rite Aid. Nick had bought that super cozy plaid jacket there and I wanted a similar one so bad. But they didn't have one so I ended up with this Lake Tahoe sweater instead. I love it because it looks like my au pair sweater and I am tired of walking around with it thinking "everyone probably believes I am still an au pair", lol.

After eating we wanted to enjoy downtown during daytime, because we had really only seen it at night. The Heavenly Village downtown area is one big reason why I love this place. I can already imagine the beauty of it with snow and Christmas lights. All of the buildings of course look like cabins. Its basically my dreams coming true in the best of ways. Downtown might be dead at night but it's wonderful during the day. Several restaurants have musicians and singers performing while people eat or enjoy the weather.

My autumn nails!

Sock store full of... well, socks xD such cute themes

This is where the ice rink is during winter time! Imagine it with those lights lit up up above the rink... gorgeous!

Autumn trees <3

We didn't know if I would get any real birthday cake that night so we bought these cute little birthday truffles!

The beautiful fountain right in the center of it all. And the gondola in the background! One day I will go up there on the mountain. Both of us threw a coin in the fountain and made a wish!

bottom of page